Wider Horizons is led by a 12-member Board of Directors and an Executive Director. An active and involved membership serves on task forces and committees and generates and carries out specific program activities.

Executive Director – Denise Klein

A resident of Seattle for the past 44 years, Denise Klein is known for her blend of visionary leadership and ability to generate practical solutions to complex human and organizational problems. Denise’s professional experience includes:

  • Executive Director of Wider Horizons: Central Seattle’s Village for Life
  • CEO of Senior Services [now Sound Generations] for 10 years
  • Member and officer of national, state, and local Boards of Directors of numerous non-profit organizations
  • Consulting nationally for 13 years
  • Led the King County Area Agency on Aging for 12 years
  • Recipient of the American Society on Aging’s Leadership Award in 1994
  • Selected as the first Distinguished Area Agency Director by the National Association of Area Agencies on Aging in 1985 

Board Members

Ann Lawrence, M.Div., MA PresidentActive WH member,; clinical psychologist & adoptions specialistElected to Board in 2016, Ends 2021
Charles Heaney, Ph.D.Vice President
Active WH member; Retired health care administratorElected to Board in 2016, Ends 2021
Elizabeth Ohlson, Ed.D.
SecretaryActive WH member,; Retired educatorElected to Board in 2016, ends 2021
Bob Anderson, MPADirectorActive WH member and founder, retired CEO of Horizon HouseElected to Board 2021, ends 2026
Susan AdlerDirectorActive WH member; retired Nonprofit Executive DirectorElected to Board in 2020, ends 2025
Nancy Hooyman, PhDDirectorActive WH member; gerontologist; Professor and Dean Emeritus, School of Social Work, UWElected to Board 2021, ends 2026
Sue Lerner, MEdImmediate Past PresidentActive WH member; retired K-12 teacher & administratorElected to Board in 2014, ends 2020
Denise Lishner, MSWDirectorActive WH member, medical researcher, retired from UW Elected to Board in 2020, ends 2025
Gigi Meinig, MPATreasurerActive WH member; retired Grants and Contracts Manager, City of SeattleElected to Board in 2020, ends 2025
John RochfordDirectorActive WH member; Specialist in aging and transportation; administrator for King County MetroElected to Board 2021, ends 2026
Nancy Robb. MPADirectorActive WH member; retired electrical utility manager, City Light, City of Seattle
Elected to Board in 2020, ends 2025
Donna Sunkel, MADirectorActive WH member; retired from career in finance at UWElected to Board 2017, ends 2023

JeanneMarie Thomas, MSWDirectorActive WH member; aging specialist; former Executive Director of NEST VillageElected to Board 2021, ends 2026

Skip to content